AGM Update – Programme and Speakers & Facilitators List

All at Scottish Communities CAN HQ are super excited about Monday. Below, to whet your appetite, you will find the programme plus a list of all the great speakers, facilitators and presenters who will be involved. We look forward to seeing you all there!

9am Registration tea and coffee
9.30 Welcome and Introduction – Philip Revell Lesley Riddoch
9.50 Why are we here? – Andy Kerr ECCI
10.00 Why are you here? – Activity: be prepared to talk
10.15 The Power of Just Doing Stuff – Rob Hopkins (by video link)
10.50 Finding Common Cause – Pam McLean
11.20 Tea
11.35 Partnership working – public sector and community collaboration SSN (tbc) – David Gunn Climate Challenge Fund
11.55 Funding Routemap – Alan Caldwell
12.05 AGM & Annual report – Confirmation of steering group members
12.30 Lunch and Marketplace
13.30 Scotland 2050 Scottish Government
13.40 Introduction to Workshops Building the vision from the bottom up
13.50 Workshops 1: one of Energy supply and generation Food Local Economy
15.00 Tea
15.15 Workshops 2: one of Energy use and demand reduction Transport Behaviour and culture change
16.25 Feedback from workshops
16.45 Wrap-up Lesley Riddoch
5pm Close
On to an informal social in a pub nearby


Philip Revell – Project Manager for Sustaining Dunbar and currently Chair of Scottish Communities Climate Action Network

Lesley Riddoch – Journalist, broadcaster, writer, columnist, cyclist. Her most recent book ‘Blossom’ – What Scotland Needs to Flourish’, relates stories of Scots who’ve struggled against the odds to improve their communities

Andy Kerr – Leading figure in the areas of low carbon policy and implementation and Director of the Edinburgh Centre for Carbon Innovation since December 2010

Rob Hopkins – Independent activist and writer on environmental issues, based in Totnes, England. He is the co-founder of Transition Town Totnes and the Transition Network

Pam McLean – Managing Director of The Surefoot Effect CIC, equipping people with the awareness, belief and confidence to take the next step toward sustainable, equitable living and working

SSN – The Sustainable Scotland Network (SSN) supports public sector action on sustainable development. SSN members from local authorities and wider public sector bodies work with communities to support action on climate change

David Gunn – Programme manager for Climate Challenge Fund at Keep Scotland Beautiful with broad experience in Scotland’s environmental sector and an interest in how community action can contribute to societal change

Alan Caldwell – Consultant, working with a group of talented associates to do things differently and promote a sustainable future

Jonathan Waite – Senior Policy Officer, Low Carbon Behaviours, Directorate for Energy & Climate Change, Scottish Government

Workshop speakers and facilitators

Energy Generation in the community
Lynn Molleson – Director of Balerno Village Trust and Harlaw Hydro, community-owned through a share issue. COSS advisor with Development Trust Association Scotland
Kelly McIntyre – Project Manager, Fintry Development Trust FintryDT’s approach resulted in a 15th turbine at Earlsburn and has led to further projects within the community
Andy Maybury– Development Officer, Community Energy Scotland

Pat Abel – Chair of Transition Edinburgh South and board member of Nourish Scotland
Pete Ritchie – Executive Director of Nourish Scotland, farmer and sustainable food consultant

Local Economy
Sue Guy -Project Facilitator with Sustaining Dunbar, specialist in participatory community mapping, action planning, project monitoring and evaluation
Fiona Ward – Initiated and runs the REconomy Project for Transition Network
Alis Ballance – Founder and Managing Director of Moffat CAN (CArbon Neutral)

Energy demand reduction
Amanda Kean – Energy Officer with South Seeds, a community led organisation based in the south of Glasgow
Sean Watters – Energy Advisor with Sustaining Dunbar, Development Trust and Transition initiative
Lucy Gillie – Project Manager with South Seeds, experienced in working with communities to tackle health, regeneration and environmental issues

Emma Margrett – Development Officer with Transform Scotland and a Director of Comrie Development Trust
John MacDonald – Director for Scotland, Community Transport Association
Penny Morriss – Communities Coordinator, Living Streets – working to create safe, attractive and enjoyable streets across Scotland
Morag Haddow – Sustainable Transport Officer, Sustaining Dunbar, co-founder of Sparewheels Car Club

Behaviour change and culture change
Pam McLean – as above
Alex Hilliam – Behaviour Change Specialist & Senior Researcher, Changeworks
Angus Hardie – Director, Scottish Community Alliance, the network for Scotland’s community networks

Luci Ransome -Towards Transition Glasgow,